About Kazan

“Kazan – the third capital of Russia”

Kazan is the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan, the city with a thousand-year history that lies on the shores of the Volga River and has a population of over a million people. It is one of the major economic, political, scientific, educational, sport and cultural centers of Russia, which fairly bears the name of the Third Capital of Russia.

Kazan is a city where East and West meet, where the representatives of different nationalities and religions live in peace and harmony. The historical symbol of the city of Kazan is a mythical dragon named Zilant. Zilant adorns the coat of arms of the city: there is a black dragon with dark red wings and tongue, golden paws, claws, eyes, and a golden crown on its head depicted on the green earth inside silver field. The shield is crowned with a Kazan cap. According to the traditions of heraldry, the dragon symbolizes strength, wisdom and invincibility, the earth – life and wealth, the crown – development and the cap on the shield – the capital status of the city.

White-stone Kazan Kremlin is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites and is the main attraction for more than a million tourists that visit Kazan annually.
There is the largest IT Park in Russia, as well as one of Europe’s largest technology park “Idea” in Kazan. In addition, Kazan is the only city in Russia, having both Federal University and two national research universities.
Kazan is one of the largest cultural centers of Russia that preserves the classical achievements as well as contributes to the development of modern, leading trends in many areas of culture. The capital of Tatarstan is traditionally called “multicultural”, meaning mutually enriching and peacefully coexistence of Russian and Tatar cultures. With the support of UNESCO in Kazan, the world’s first Institute for the Culture of Peace was established.

In Kazan cultural international events take place annually: annual international festivals of opera “Chaliapin”, festivals of ballet “Nureyev”, festivals of classical music “Rachmaninov”, opera open air “Kazan Autumn”, festivals of modern music “Concordia”, of folk- and rock music “The Creation of the World”, literary festival “Aksyonov Fest”, festival of Muslim cinema ” Golden Minbar “(from 2010 – Kazan international festival of Muslim cinema), festival of role-playing games ” Zilantkon “, numerous festivals and competitions of the federal and republican levels. In 2014, Kazan hosted the competition Tyurkvidenie.

Kazan and sport

672963109

Kazan is one of the most developed in terms of sports cities in Russia. The city hosted two Bandy World Cups in 2005 and 2011, 2013 Summer Universiade, 2014 World Fencing Championships and 2015 World Aquatics Championships. The city will host 2017 Confederations Cup and 2018 World Cup. In 2009, the city was the site of the All-Russian forum “Russia – Country of Sports”. In 2009, Kazan received the National Award.

The city is one of the leaders in the number of victories in various sports, including major team sports (football club “Rubin”; hockey club “Ak Bars”, basketball club “Unics”; volleyball club “Zenit-Kazan” and ” Dynamo “; bendy club” Dinamo-Kazan “,” Dynamo “(field hockey), water polo club” Sintez “).
There are many major sports facilities of the Russian and global levels, including a number of unique in the country facilities for some sports.
Kazan Marathon is a worthy event of sport and cultural life of the city.

О Казани

«Казань – третья столица России»

Казань – столица Республики Татарстан, город на Волге с тысячелетней историей и населением более миллиона человек. Один из крупнейших экономических, политических, научных, образовательных, спортивных и культурных центров России, который по праву носит название третьей столицы России.

Про Казань можно сказать, что это город, где встречаются Восток и Запад, где в мире и согласии проживают представители множества национальностей и вероисповеданий. Историческим символом города Казани является драконоподобное мифическое существо Зилант, оно же и красуется на гербе города. В серебряном поле на зелёной земле чёрный дракон с червлёными крыльями и языком, с золотыми лапами, когтями и глазами, увенчанный золотой короной. Щит увенчан Казанской шапкой. По традициям геральдики, дракон символизирует мощь, мудрость и непобедимость, земля — жизнь и богатство, корона — развитость, а шапка над щитом — столичность города.

Жемчужина города белокаменный Казанский Кремль входит в число объектов всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО и является главным объектом притяжения более миллиона туристов, посещающих Казань ежегодно.
Инновационная экономика в Казани представлена крупнейшим в России ИТ-парком, а также одним из самых больших в Европе технопарком «Идея». Также Казань является единственным городом в России, имеющим одновременно федеральный университет и два национальных исследовательских университета.

Казань является одним из крупнейших культурных центров России, сохраняя классические достижения, а также способствуя развитию современных, авангардных направлений во многих областях культуры. Столицу Татарстана традиционно называют «мультикультурной», подразумевая взаимовыгодное обогащение мирно сосуществующих русской и татарской культур. При поддержке ЮНЕСКО в Казани был создан первый в мире Институт культуры мира.

В Казани ежегодно международные фестивали оперы Шаляпинский, балета Нуриевский, классической музыки Рахманиновский, оперный open air «Казанская осень», современной музыки «Конкордия», фольк- и рок-музыки «Сотворение мира», литературный «Аксёнов-фест», мусульманского кино «Золотой Минбар» (с 2010 года — Казанский международный фестиваль мусульманского кино), ролевых игр «Зиланткон», многочисленные фестивали и конкурсы федерального и республиканского уровня. В 2014 году Казань принимала конкурс Тюрквидение.

Казань и спорт

672963109

Казань является одним из самых развитых в спортивном плане городов России. Город принимал два чемпионата мира по хоккею с мячом в 2005 году и 2011 году, Летнюю Универсиаду 2013 года, Чемпионат мира по фехтованию 2014 года. В городе пройдут Чемпионат мира по водным видам спорта 2015 года, Кубок конфедераций 2017 и Чемпионат мира по футболу 2018 года. В 2009 году город стал местом проведения Всероссийского форума «Россия — спортивная держава». В 2009 году Казань получила Национальную премию «Золотая команда России» в номинации «Спортивная столица».

Город является одним из лидеров по числу побед в различных видах спорта, в том числе по основным командным видам спорта (футбольный клуб «Рубин», хоккейный клуб «Ак Барс», баскетбольный клуб «Уникс», волейбольные клубы «Зенит-Казань» и «Динамо», бендийный клуб «Динамо-Казань», «Динамо» (хоккей на траве), ватерпольный клуб «Синтез»).

Имеется множество крупных спортивных объектов российского и мирового уровня, в том числе ряд уникально-единственных в стране объектов по некоторым видам спорта.
Казанский марафон является достойным событием спортивной и культурной жизни города.